Up to Greymouth

Standard
A bridge both vehicles and trains use.  I had to be pretty careful to avoid the tracks!

A bridge both vehicles and trains use. I had to be pretty careful to avoid the tracks!

I'm sure the British Roundabout Appreciation Society would get excited about this....

I’m sure the British Roundabout Appreciation Society would get excited about this….

A long straight section of road (with fast cars)

A long straight section of road (with fast cars)

Showing the prevailing wind.

Showing the prevailing wind.

I’ve made it up to Greymouth, a town I was at a few weeks ago having cycled down from Westport. This means I have now cycled the entire west coast of the South Island. I saw much less ocean than I expected to given the proximity to the coast, as there was a rainforest blocking the view most of the time, though this has been pretty spectacular in itself.

Last night was at a ‘historic’ pub in Ross – they had a number of motel style cabins which were in a pretty tatty state, though I was more than happy with it, especially as they only charged $15 a night for a private room. They also served up gargantuan sized portions of steak and chips which appealed to my huge appetite. There was a couple next door who were also cycle touring, though I didn’t get to chat to them – for some reason they decided to get up (the walls were pretty thin) at 6.15am, over an hour before it gets light. I’m guessing they are not 4 months into their trip like me, who got up at a more reasonable 8am. It was another day of running the gauntlet on narrow sections of road with aggressive drivers as the coast becomes more populated near the bigger town. One of them, without a doubt, deliberately drove as close to me as he thought he could joking with his friends as he did so, continuously sounding his horn as he passed.

I’ve booked into a hostel in Westport for a couple of days, as it’s expected to dump down with rain over the next couple of days. Couldn’t be cycling in the rain now could I?!!? I’ve only done so once in the entire trip since starting in November. For the first time in 30 years the entire North Island is officially in a state of drought, and today, Westland, here in the South Island had a meeting and decided they should be too – for the first time ever… Like I say, It’s been pretty dry.

I was going to stay here, but couldn't find anyone.  I wonder why...

I was going to stay here, but couldn’t find anyone. I wonder why…

I think this is used to kill possoms. Not much water about to drink though.

I think this is used to kill possoms. Not much water about to drink though.

One of several dry riverbeds I cycled over today.

One of several dry riverbeds I cycled over today.

One response »

Leave a Reply

