South to Hue

Standard

I had the intention of having an easy 70km day and stopping off at a beach today, but didn’t feel like stopping so I carried on to make it another big day at 140km. Actually, I think what’s ‘normal’ and what’s ‘big’ seem to be changing. It feels perfectly normal to go 140km in a day now. Having flat roads helps a great deal.

Bánh mì - a breakfast baguette.  I had 4 this morning, one of which was served on someone's maths homework by the looks of it.

Bánh mì – a breakfast baguette. I had 4 this morning, one of which was served on someone’s maths homework by the looks of it.


I have stopped off at a small hotel on the outskirts of Hue where there doesn’t seem to be a lot else around, and when I managed to ask where I can get some food (using sign language), the family who runs the hotel insisted I join them for dinner. A very kind and much appreciated gesture.
It was only another 16km into Hue the next morning where I managed to get totally lost. I eventually saw someone clutching a Lonely Planet Vietnam book who managed to point me in the right direction. I had been trying to do without Lonely Planet, but it appears I can’t!! I spent the next 3 hours trying to buy one, and eventually managed to get my hands on a good ‘copy’ for a couple of quid. It’s in French though. Still, I think I can work it out. All I need to do is keep my ears open for someone french with an English version!
I’m just taking it easy today after a long few days in the saddle. It appears the powers at be in Vietnam have blocked access to my blog, so updating it involved getting my hands on some funky software. It’s a shame though as I had been showing it to locals in Thailand and Laos who really enjoyed it.
I’m planning on heading down south on the train (I’m sure some of you will be glad to hear), as the main A1 road is a bit crazy and dangerous. Perhaps Nah Trang or Quy Nho’n. If anyone has been round there let me know what’s worth stopping off at. Tommy – what was that place you ‘borrowed’ a towel from again?

Leave a Reply

