Crazy Vietnam

Standard

Another big day down the coast of Vietnam (though strangely I’ve only had one glimpse of the sea). 147Km to be exact. Today was mostly flat, with only a headwind in the afternoon to contend with. I’m really enjoying the time in the saddle (almost 8 hours today), and the delights that the main highway A1 in Vietnam have to offer. It’s what can be carried on the back of a scooter that amazes me the most. I’ve seen, strapped to the back of a motorbike:

A bundle of chickens (alive as well as dead)
A 6 foot mirror
A 20 foot bamboo pole
2 mattresses
A kitchen sink (yes really)
A pig. A live one. Just to prove it I have a picture for you.

Pigs might fly... Not this one though.  He's tied down!

Pigs might fly… Not this one though. He’s tied down!

I have made it down to Dong Hoi, stopping about 4.30pm and had some dinner with a German/English couple as well as an English/Vietnamese couple – the first white people I have seen for several days. I think tomorrow I’ll take it slightly easier as I’ve had a couple of big days in a row now (I’ve also passed the 2000km mark).

I watched this guy drive over several hundred cans dozens of times  with his van while I stopped for a coffee.  Who needs a can crusher when you have a van!!

I watched this guy drive over several hundred cans dozens of times with his van while I stopped for a coffee. Who needs a can crusher when you have a van!!

4 responses »

  1. “140km a day is normal” wow jock that’s a good effort! I actually quite like ur style of writing! It’s comedy…. U could do a stand up show about ur trip when u get back! Keep up the good work it’s inspirational!

Leave a Reply

