Back to Chiang Mai. Time to be a tourist for the day.

Standard

I enjoyed a day on the bike which had, for the first time, absolutely no hills.  It showed in my average speed – every day so far I had averaged 12 or 13km/hr.  The ride on the flat up to Chiang Mai averaged at over 20km/hr.  I made a huge difference being able to stay cool by having the wind in my face as I cycled.

I had a really good coffee at a random little coffee shack, who it turns out the owner of which is an avid cyclist.  So, only asking for a coffee, I was given a coffee, a cup of tea as well as an ice milk tea which payment was refused for – much appreciated.

Each one with a light bulb in it

Arriving in Chiang Mai had it’s own challenge though, which was finding a bed for the night.  Loy Krathong (click here), a light festival which attracts thousands of tourists had filled up many of the guesthouses.  it took 8 requests for a room before I found one.

This combined with the weekly Sunday street market made for quite the event.

Filling candles in Doi Suthep temple

I hired a scooter for the day (awesome fun) and went up to Doi Suthep temple, which I have included a few pictures of.

I intend to head north tomorrow towards Fang, Chiang Rai and eventually Laos.

Andy – saw this, thought of you 🙂

The only begging I have seen since arrival to Chiang Mai.

Great street food.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! Ou were in Chiang Mai at the same time as me! Me and my friend we started our trip from Chiang Mai on Nov 29 th! So we were there for the Festival etc! I did Doi Sutep hill by bicycle and loved it! Here is a cycling community in many cities in Thailand, including Chiang Mai. So I saw a lot of male cyclists on my way saying hi and waving! It was a great experience!

Leave a Reply

